64 Parishes

September Competition

Published: August 30, 2019
Last Updated: December 1, 2019

September Competition

Alexandria Museum of Art

Pam Echeverria, Qutang Gorge, Yangtse River, #2, 2019. Acrylic with collage.

Alexandria Museum of Art (AMoA) proudly welcomes Marilyn Laufer as the 2019 juror for the museum’s annual September Competition. Dr. Marilyn Laufer began her career as a museum educator, working at various museums in the Midwest until she decided to return to academic studies at Washington University in Saint Louis, where she received her doctorate in art history.
In 2006 she was asked to serve as the interim co-director of the Jule Collins Smith Museum of Fine Art at Auburn University and was named director the following year, retiring as Director Emerita in June 2018. While director, Laufer established the 1072 Society, which provided funds that enabled the enhancement of the museum’s collection to include a wide range of artwork that included Old Master works on paper, significant nineteenth- to twenty-first-century photographs, sculpture, prints, and paintings. Dr. Laufer has contributed to many art-related publications, written scripts for documentary art films, served on numerous arts panels, and lectured widely. She currently lives in Asheville, North Carolina, with her husband Tom Butler, also a retired museum director, and their two opera-loving dachshunds, Isolde and Siegfried.
AMoA’s September Competition is an annual juried exhibition, now in its thirty-second year, highlighting the work of contemporary artists in all media and styles created within the past two years. Fifty-one artworks selected from over four hundred and fifty international submissions are included in the exhibition and featured in a full-color print catalog. This year, the fifty selected artists represent four countries, twenty-three states, and forty-nine cities. The exhibition is on view at AMoA through October 24th, 2019. The juror presented awards at the opening reception, and the Alexandria Museum of Art staff selected one piece from the exhibition for a purchase award, which was added to the museum’s permanent collection.

Artists selected for the 2019 exhibition

Marie-Ange Ackad • Paul Adams • Kim Anderson • Warner Ball • Dana Brown • McCormick Brubaker • Heidi Brueckner • John Calabrese • James Calvin • Candice Chovanec • Hai-Dang Do • Pam Echeverria • Claudia Flynn • Pam Fortner • Curtis Frederick • Kenneth Frischkorn • Lindsay Garcia • Victoria General • Victoria Goro-Rapoport • Qian Jin • Cynthia Johnston • Jean Judd • Alvaro Labanino • Diego Lasansky • Jie Li • Karine & Matthew Maynard • Corinne McAuley • Betsy Meyer • Paul Murray • Tim Needles • Jeffrey Neumann • Linda O’Neill • Mary Jane Parker • Aimee Perez • Mary Porter • Brian Row • Katrina Ruhmland • Winter Rusiloski • Abbey Ryan • Halide Salam • Cherie Sampson • Tracy Sasser • Sondra Schwetman • Haley Smith • Wendy Starn • Carve Stone • HsuanTe Su • Rhonda Urdang • Cheryl Zibisky